Baylinks Motel Location

LOCATION & DISTRICT:

Ahipara (The Gateway to Ninety Mile Beach) is only 15km / 15 min west of Kaitaia in the Far North of the North Island of New Zealand. The Far North - He Whenua Rangatira - a district of sustainable prosperity and wellbeing. Also referred to as “The Winterless North” and not without merit as we do have some of the best weather to be found anywhere in New Zealand. Sub-Tropical oceanic climate with warm humid summers (15°c low to 24.6°c high) and mild winters (8.5°c low to 15.6°c high) and the average sunshine hours are 2000.

Ahipara is a small coastal township / settlement located at the southern end of picturesque Ninety Mile Beach (actually 88km) and is about 120km from Cape Reinga which is the northern tip of the North Island. Approximately 4 hours from Auckland, 1.5 hours from Kerikeri, 2.25 hours from Whangarei, 1.5 hours from Bay of Islands, 2.5 hours from Dargaville.

 

TO SEE & DO:

You will easily find that 1 or 2 days in this area are not enough to make the most of all that is on offer and all there is to see.

Cape Reinga is not your typical tourist trap – Cape Reinga is sacred to Maori as they believe their loved ones’ spirits depart from Cape Reinga. Some Maori come all the way to say goodbye and make their peace. The Pacific Ocean meets the Tasman Sea here which can result in a colour difference where they meet. As a sacred place you are requested to not eat outside your vehicle. There is no restaurant or souvenir shop there. The spectacular beauty is what it is all about and more than worth it so make it a must-see. There are excellent tours that we love and recommend so check out Sand Safaris www.sandsafaris.co.nz

In Ahipara and surrounds you can be as adventurous or as chilled out as you prefer. Whether you prefer walking Ninety Mile Beach or enjoy walking your dog or gather shells or even shellfish like tuatua. At low tide you can go from Shipwreck Bay around the rocks and Tauroa Peninsula to Rapiro Beach heading south. Drive or play on Ninety Mile Beach with your offroad bike, vehicle, or even a bicycle. You can play on the sand dunes or enjoy the ocean your way, whether that is fishing, boating, surfing, diving or just watching. You may even see wild horses, seals, penguins, sea birds, etc. Here are some further offerings:

Te Ahu Centre in Kaitaia has the iSite / Visitor Information Centre, Cinema, Museum, Events Centre, Library and is also where buses will drop you off if traveling nationally www.teahu.org.nz

Ahipara Treks – experience Ninety Mile Beach on horse back (highly recommended) 09-409 4122 / 027 333 8645 www.truenz.co.nz/horsetrekking

Tuatua Rentals Ahipara www.tuatuarentals.co.nz

Ahipara Adventure Centre www.ahiparaadventure.co.nz

Ancient Kauri Kingdom www.ancientkauri.co.nz

Okahu Estate Vineyard & Winery www.okahuestate.co.nz

Waitapu Estate Vineyard www.waitapuestate.co.nz

Surf 90 Mile Beach with NZ SurfBros www.nzsurfbros.com

Cape Reinga Adventures (tours, kayaking, fishing) www.landbasedfishing.co.nz

Gumdiggers Park (NZ Amber, Gumdigger Heritage & Discovery, Kauri, rare Northland Geckos) www.gumdiggerspark.co.nz

Swamp Kauri by Irish (artist in residence with gallery) on 96 Foreshore Rd, Ahipara 09-409 4746

Far North Outback Adventures www.farnorthtours.co.nz

Wildcat 1 Ahipara Fishing Charters www.ahipara.co.nz/wildcat

Te Whare Whiri Toi (weaving, painting, carving) Roma Rd, Ahipara 09-409 4838 / 0211 5099 00

Ultimate Sand Safaris www.ultimatesandsafaris.co.nz

Northland Rentals www.northlandrentals.co.nz

Long Flat Bottom Gallery longflatbottom@gmail.com 09-408 3685 at 274 Takahue Rd, Takahue, Kaitaia

Ahipara Safaris Adventures (4x4 personalised tours) 0800 BUS TOUR

Timeout Tours on TripAdvisor 0210 286 2667

Kitesurf School www.kitesurfnz.com

Matthews Vintage Collection www.matthewsvintage.com

 

DIRECTIONS:

When you arrive in Ahipara you will go past the Ahipara School and North Drift Café and follow the same road towards the right and it changes into Takahe Street. You will go past a liquor store, dairy / superette / post shop, petrol station, Bidz Takeaways, Ahipara Adventure Centre. Follow Takahe Street all the way till you see Baylinks Motel on the left. If you go too far you will land up at the Kaitaia Golf Links so just turn around and come back.